Northwestern Memorial Foundation is dedicated to supporting the educational interests and goals of individuals who are pursuing, or who plan to pursue, careers in health care.

Through a variety of scholarship programs, we are pleased to offer valuable learning and mentorship opportunities that encourage people to grow and explore, and to deepen their healthcare-related interests, knowledge and skills. From high school students and those in the early stages of their careers, to experienced healthcare providers, individuals in all phases of their lives and careers can benefit from our scholarship programs.

Northwestern Medicine Huntley Hospital, McHenry Hospital and Woodstock Hospital Nursing Scholarships

Northwestern Medicine McHenry Hospital, Huntley Hospital and Woodstock Hospital are proud to offer nursing scholarship opportunities to students entering the profession of Nursing. Download the Scholarship Application here.

  • Audrey Ballard Nursing Scholarship: The Audrey Ballard Nursing Scholarship was made possible through the generosity of Audrey Ballard, a Woodstock native and a nurse of 48 years. Individuals who receive the Audrey Ballard Nursing Scholarship are high school graduates who are pursuing education in a nursing program. Scholarship funds go directly to the school designated and are used toward tuition, fees or books.
  • Janet Smith Nursing Scholarship: The Janet Smith Nursing Scholarship was made possible through generous donations from family, friends and community members who wanted to honor her giving spirit. Janet Smith received her nursing degree from Alverno College in 1974 and began working as a registered nurse in the obstetrics department at Woodstock Memorial Hospital. Janet exemplified the meaning of community service and volunteerism. As a certified childbirth educator, she taught Lamaze classes for expectant mothers throughout McHenry County for over 30 years. Janet lived with selfless concern for others and the strongest force in her life was the love of family and friends.
  • Jackie Sund Nursing Scholarship: This scholarship was made possible in recognition of Jackie Sund’s tremendous dedication to both the nursing profession and Centegra Health System. It was established as a means to assist future nurses with their educational expenses and to ensure Jackie’s legacy of dedication to advancing the availability of well-trained nursing professionals for our community. Jackie was a dedicated Associate of Centegra Health System for 40 years. She served as a mentor to hundreds of new nurses, sharing her knowledge of basic nursing, advanced nursing practice, critical care nursing and as a patient flow supervisor she modeled critical thinking. She had a special affinity for those patients and their families that were dealing with any type of brain trauma. Jackie was one of the first nurses in the nation to attain the specialty certification in critical care and was one of the very first Flight for Life nurses. Her humor and spirit were contagious. Jackie would turn any challenging situation into a positive team effort with ideal patient outcomes. Jackie is missed by many whose lives she touched.

Auxiliary Scholarships

One of our main objectives is to build the next generation of healthcare leaders.

For example, the Auxiliaries of Northwestern Medicine Central DuPage Hospital, Northwestern Medicine Delnor Hospital, Northwestern Medicine Kishwaukee Hospital and Northwestern Medicine Valley West Hospital offer college scholarships to students pursuing a degree or certification in a healthcare-related field, such as nursing, applied health or pharmacy.

  • Applicants who live in the Northwestern Medicine Central DuPage Hospital or Northwestern Medicine Delnor Hospital service area can receive scholarships of $1,000 to $5,000 per year toward education expenses only. Applicants can download the guidelines and application instructions here.
  • Applicants who live in the Northwestern Medicine Kishwaukee Hospital service area can download Kishwaukee Hospital Auxiliary scholarship and application instructions. For more information, please contact Deborah Nier, volunteer services manager.
  • Applicants who live in the Northwestern Medicine Valley West Hospital service area can download the Valley West Hospital Auxiliary scholarship and application instructions.

Marianjoy Scholarship Program

Since its inception in 1994, the Marianjoy Scholarship Program has awarded more than $920,000. Administered through Northwestern Memorial Foundation, funding for all scholarship awards is provided through generous donations from the community. The scholarships have had a profound impact on the lives of many talented individuals. Past recipients include a physician, an attorney, a professional musician, a pastor, a film writer, a therapist and a teacher, among others. Click here for more information.

Northwestern Medicine Valley West Hospital Auxiliary Scholarships

The Northwestern Medicine Valley West Hospital Auxiliary offers scholarships to local residents who are pursuing healthcare careers. Applicants must live within the Valley West service area. These communities include Earlville, Sandwich, Plano, Somonauk, Leland, Yorkville, Bristol, Sheridan, Serena, Newark, Millington, Millbrook, Big Rock, Hinckley and Waterman. Every applicant must be a high school graduate and must show proof of acceptance into a post-secondary health-related program.

Application forms, transcripts and test scores are required for the subsequent fall semester. Scholarships are awarded on the basis of demonstrated financial need, academic merit and career goals. Each year, the Valley West Hospital Auxiliary awards healthcare career scholarships to deserving students.

Applicants can download Northwestern Medicine Valley West Auxiliary Scholarship application and instructions . Applications are also available in the Valley West Hospital Unique Boutique Gift Shop  For questions or more information contact Cathy Orseske at 815-498-2796, or by emailing Applications must be received in the Volunteer Services office or postmarked by the due date. 

Women’s Board of Lake Forest Hospital Scholarships

The Women’s Board of Lake Forest Hospital is pleased and proud to offer scholarship opportunities to students enrolled in a school of nursing, medical school or other accredited clinical health career program with direct patient care. Download the Women’s Board Scholarship Application Checklist here.

  • A. B. Dick, Jr. Scholarship: Established in 1952 and named for the first chairman of the hospital’s Board of Directors. Mr. Dick’s family donated the land on which our main hospital campus sits. Mr. Dick served on the Board from 1940 to 1951.
  • Marion Warner Hodgkins Scholarship: Established in honor of the first president and founder of the Women’s Board. Mrs. Hodgkins served on the Women’s Board from 1946 until her death in 2000.
  • Helen Dick Bronson Scholarship: Established in 2009 in memory of A.B. Dick, Jr.’s daughter, Helen Dick Bronson. Helen was a member of the Women’s Board for 60 years and served as president from 1962 to 1965.
  • Christina Schulte Fisher Scholarship: Established in 2007 to honor the exceptional volunteer service of Mrs. Fisher. Her invaluable commitment to and support of Lake Forest Hospital through membership on the Board of Directors and the Women’s Board have been of immeasurable benefit to the hospital and the community.